Please update your Flash Player to view content.

Please update your Flash Player to view content.

(ISMBS 2015)

Location: Great Arsenali Conference Center, old Venetian harbor, Chania, Crete, Greece
Date: 7-10 September 2015
Contact: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Symposium Description
The International Symposium on Monolingual and Bilingual Speech 2015 (ISMBS 2015) will host original research on the acquisition and use of first language, second language, bilingual, and dialectal speech, child and adult, normal and disordered. The Symposium encourages a multidisciplinary exchange of ideas across phonology, phonetics, psycholinguistics, clinical phonetics, speech pathology, acoustics, neurolinguistics, and the application of new technologies. Theoretical, experimental, observational, and computational contributions are welcome.

Plenary Speakers
Martin J. Ball, Linköping University
Katarzyna Dziubalska-Kołaczyk, Adam Mickiewicz University
Steven Gillis, University of Antwerp
Margaret Kehoe-Winkler, University of Geneva
Ineke Mennen, Bangor University
Mehmet Yavaş, Florida International University

Special Lecture
B. May Bernhardt and Joseph P. Stemberger, University of British Columbia

Panel Discussion
David Ingram of Arizona State University will moderate a panel discussion with the participation of the audience on: Research in Monolingual and Bilingual Speech: Past, Present, Future. The panel members are posted

International Scientific Committee
Elena Babatsouli, co-chair (Chania, Greece)
David Ingram, co-chair (Tempe, AZ, USA)
Anna Balas (Poznan, Poland)
Hans Basbøll (Odense, Denmark)
Alan Beretta (East Lansing, MI, USA)
Ocke-Schwen Bohn (Aarhus, Denmark)
Ferenc Bunta (Houston, TX, USA)
Juli Cebrián (Barcelona, Spain)
Cynthia Core (Washington, DC, USA)
Elise de Bree (Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Leah Fabiano-Smith (Tucson, AZ, USA)
Maria João Freitas (Lisbon, Portugal)
Tetsuo Harada (Tokyo, Japan)
Jong-mi Kim (Chuncheon, Korea)
Kristian Emil Kristoffersen (Oslo, Norway)
Conxita Lleó, (Hamburg, Germany)
Andrea MacLeod (Montreal, Canada)
Sharynne McLeod (Bathurst, Australia)
Konstantinos Minas (Rhodes, Greece)
Peggy Mok (Hong Kong)
Eleni Morfidi (Ioannina, Greece)
Eric Raimy (Madison, WI, USA)
Yvan Rose (Newfoundland, Canada)
James Scobbie (Edinburgh, UK)
Ellen Simon (Ghent, Belgium)
Anna Sosa (Flagstaff, AZ, USA)
Dimitrios Sotiropoulos (Chania, Greece)
Magdalena Wrembel (Poznan, Poland)

Early Career Research Awards
Two early career research awards of 600 (six hundred) euro each will be granted to promising researchers. Eligible are PhD candidates and doctoral degree recipients within the past four years (after 10 February 2011) who present a single authored or a co-authored paper and declare their candidacy for the award at: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by 10 February 2015.

Call for papers:

Abstract submission deadline: 10 February 2015
Date of notification: by 10 March 2015